Watch the Video:
Managing Departments as a Company Admin
If you are assigned as a Company Admin within Commercials Onboarding & Timekeeping, you can configure departments that cascade to every project within your company.
Project admins within your company will still be able to add or disable their own departments.
Note: Some things to know about managing departments at the company level:
|
Adding a Department
To create a department at the company level, click on Companies in the top navigation and then find and click the company in the list:
With the company open, click on the Departments tab and then click + Add department:
Enter a department ID and a department name. Once entered, you can either click Save and add another or click Save:
Editing or Deleting a Department
If you need to edit a department’s details after saving, click the pencil icon. If you need to delete one, click the trash can:
Note: The “General” department cannot be renamed, deleted, or marked inactive. |
Activating or Deactivating a Department
You can activate or deactivate departments via the “Status” column by toggling them on or off:
Within the departments window, you can view “Active” vs. “Inactive” by clicking on the relevant tab:
Departments you create as a company admin (in addition to the “General” department) will show as “Inherited” at the project level for your project admins:
Project admins can deactivate inherited departments if needed.
Managing Departments as a Project Admin
As a Project Admin, you can:
- Add departments
- Edit department details
- Activate/deactivate departments
- Assign employees to departments
Adding a Department
With your project open, click Settings and then click Departments:
You will see the list of departments for your project, including inherited ones that were set up at the company level.
To add a department, click + Add department:
Enter a department ID and a department name. Once entered, you can either click Save and add another or click Save:
Editing or Deleting a Department
If you need to edit a department’s details after saving, click the pencil icon. If you need to delete one, click the trash can:
| Note: As a project admin you will not be able to edit or delete a company-level, inherited department. You are only able to control the status by activating or deactivating them. |
Note: The “General” department cannot be renamed, deleted, or marked inactive. |
Activating or Deactivating a Department
You can activate or deactivate departments via the “Status” column by toggling them on or off:
Within the departments window you can view “Active” vs “Inactive” by clicking on the relevant tab:
Assigning Employees to a Department
You can assign a department to an employee:
- When creating an invite/onboarding them
- Via the “Employees” tab within the “Project Details” tab for the employee
Assigning During Onboarding
When creating the invite, use the “Department” dropdown to select the department:
Tip: You can add new departments directly from the invite screen by clicking + Add new in the department dropdown: |
Assigning/Updating from the Employees Tab
On the “Employees” tab, find the row of the employee and click the three vertical dots button, then click Project Details:
Scroll down and use the department dropdown to assign/update the employee’s department. Click Save Changes: